The CBSE CCE Road Map and Marking Pattern for Students in Class IX and Class X

Students now in Class X will have to take the CBSE Board Examination in March-April 2012. They will receive a grade based on the marks they score in each subject instead of marks.

Starting with current Class IX students, the year is divided into two terms (April - September and October - March).

Earlier forms of internal assessment have been replaced by a new system of Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE) since it came into existence in 2009.

The CCE will include in each term, two sets of Formative Assessment (FA) based on performance in class quizzes, participation in class discussions and projects, etc. and one term-end Summative Assessment (SA) where students will be tested in an Exam situation by the school. The weightage of marks (marking pattern) will be:

FA1(20) + FA2(20) + SA(60)

In March - April 2013, the current batch of Class IX, which will then be completing Class X, will have an optional public qualifying examination, which they will only need to take if they wish to change their school. The optional qualifying examination will be of MCQ type. Students who are unsure whether they may need to change their school - to study a preferred stream our in a preferred school - or just want to test their abilities can also take this optional test that will be conducted by CBSE or Central Board of Secondary Education. In addition to the optional test, the CBSE will provide aptitude tests at the end of Class IX and Class X. The aptitude test can be taken by those who wish to test their abilities to help them pick a stream to pursue in Class XI. But the scores in an aptitude test will not be valid while seeking admission to Class XI in a new school. The students who continue in the same school in Class XI under CBSE Board need not take this exam. However, based on their CCE grades through Class X, they will be issued a Board Certificate signed by CBSE.

The CBSE will conduct random checks in schools to ensure they are meeting the guidelines for CCE grading.


Grading System both in CCE (Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation) pattern and the optional CBSE Board Examinations

  • The grading system or marking pattern (evaluation) designed for CCE by CBSE is almost identical to the model followed by IITs in India and by most of the top class universities across the world. Student answers scripts are marked, and on the basis of their marks, they are accorded a corresponding grade and a grade point as follows:




A1 (10)


A2 (9)

71 – 80

B1 (8)

61 – 70

B2 (7)

51 – 60

C1 (6)

41 – 50

C2 (5)

33 – 40

D (4)

21 – 32


0 – 20


  • The average of the grade points in different subjects gives a student his Grade Point Average (GPA). Multiplying the GPA by 10 gives a student his equivalent marks for subjects where Class XI is a part of junior college and where these junior colleges admit students on the basis of marks in Class X qualifying exams.
  • Students who obtained grade E1 or E2 can conditionally start Class XI – they will need to clear internal compartmental exams. (This was already the practice of CBSE affiliated schools, where students who scored less than 33 per cent in their Class X Board Examination could join Class XI on the condition that they clear the compartmental exams).     

Keywords: Board Examination, CBSE, CCE, Continuous and Comprehensive Evaluation, CBSE Board